Denis Smith was born in Soisson-La-Montagne in the mountains above Port au Prince on April 14, 1954. In 1989, he was one of the founding members of the "Cinq Soleils" with Louisanne Saint-Fleurant,Prospere Pierre-LouisDieuseul Paul, and Levoy Exil. Denis is the least-known member. Today, he and Exil Levoy are the only ones alive. His work appears in the books Haiti: Art Naif, Art Voddoo (1988), and Where Art is Joy/Haitian Art: The Forty Years (1988) by Selden Rodman, and Masterpieces of Haitian Art by Candice Russell.